Mental Health OSCE

Mental Health OSCE

NMC Mental Health OSCE is a simulation-based test that forms part of the mandatory process for registering as a mental health nurse within the UK NMC. The OSCE is made up of ten different stations where your skills will be tested, and the test is delivered via five university test centres around the UK.

How many stations in mental health OSCE?

There are ten stations that make up the Mental Health OSCE. Four stations test APIE (Assessment, Planning, Implementation and Evaluation) skills. For mental health nursing, the scenarios you will be given include Depression and Suicide Ideation and Bipolar Disorder. A further four stations will test you on two pairs of skills together. Skills can include:

  • Administration of Suppository
  • De-escalation
  • Nutritional Assessment
  • Reminiscence Therapy
  • Talking Therapies
  • Physiological Observations (OBS)

Finally, two silent written stations will assess you on professional values and behaviours, and on evidence-based practice.

Where to take the test

There are five NMC-approved OSCE test providers across the UK:

University of Northampton

Ulster University

Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Northumbria University

Oxford Brookes University

Once you are ready to take the OSCE test, you can book the OSCE test. Health Skills Training can help you to select the test centre and make your booking.